Coffee Obsession

September 11, 2008 § 2 Comments

If I do go out for coffee, it’s gotta be good for a whole raft of reasons including the barista and coffee quality. Some local cafés kicking goals in Perth in my book are Tiger Tiger, Boucla, and Epic Espresso.

Perth’s recently become far more educated in its coffee culture in spite of the fact that DOME originated here.  Nothing against Dome personally, just find it impersonal.  A café version of Maccas.

If you like to do coffee at home and have the implements to do so there’s some great roasters here. Five Senses, Fiori, Essenza and many others besides.  This means that its possible to get freshly roasted beans virtually anywhere, anytime.  You don’t have to spend a fortune with them either and this means supporting a local industry as opposed to buying in Segafreddo, Lavazza et al.  Nothing against them either.  Just like supporting local businesses.

I love the daily quest for pouring the “perfect” espresso in the morning.  Getting the right amount of brown liquid out of the machine in around 20 seconds.  Then, if I remember to buy it, texturing milk so its creamy, not foamy.  Hot but not burnt.

My  favourite implements are my Rancilio Miss Silvia with matching Rocky grinder at home.  At work, the Presso’s enabled great shots of coffee without having to lug a huge machine between venues.  btw, the following video is not by me or about me but I love its’ creator’s work.  Very cool.

I could be called a coffee obsessive.  I would take that as a compliment.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Coffee Obsession

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Coffee Obsession at millier's musings.

meta