Fez Cafe Mount Lawley

September 22, 2010 § 7 Comments

210920101138

I love discovering a new cafe! Apparently Fez opened less than a week ago so I thought I’d pay them a brunch visit. I was greeted most warmly by Abby who was always attentive and friendly. My first coffee, a double shot flat white was excellent, and not too hot. In fact it says on the menu that if you want your coffee hotter, you need to specifically ask for it. The short black to follow was well poured with good acidity, but thankfully not mouth-puckeringly so.

The eggs benedict ($15.50) pictured above were cooked to perfection, with the eggs’ soft centres juxtaposed with some lightly grilled ham and gently wilted spinach on sourdough. The Hollandaise was beautifully balanced and creamy.

210920101141

The fit out is light and clean without being sterile. It’s in a great location, just off the increasingly difficult-to-negotiate Beaufort St precinct with easy adjacent street parking or in the Fresh Provisions carpark onto which it faces.

I must say I was sorely tempted by the traditional Berber breakfast of Moroccan meatballs with eggs and grilled bread ($18.50), but my appetite wasn’t quite up to that. To be continued on another occasion.

According to Abdul, the cafe’s owner, they’ll also be opening for dinner in November, with BYO wine.
Well worth a try if you’re looking for something new in the Beaufort Street precinct. I know I’ll be back for the Berber breakfast!

Fez
83 Walcott St
Mt Lawley WA 6050
(08) 9328 9999

Tagged: , , ,

§ 7 Responses to Fez Cafe Mount Lawley

  • TFP says:

    ooh… you had me at “Moroccan meatballs” Fez has been added to my ever-growing List.

  • alexmillier says:

    Hey there. Would be interested in your thoughts if you do go. Cheers. Alex

  • sam says:

    This place isn’t bad but the coffee is too expensive even by perth standards ($4.30 for a very small long mac) and the bread portions too thin. I came away hungry. The milk texture was average at best. For that money one would expect it to be perfect.

  • alexmillier says:

    Thanks for the comments. I agree, paying through the nose for just ok coffee isn’t really on. Did you share your thoughts with them too or send your coffee back?

  • Kenny says:

    I think Fez makes some of the best eggs benedict I have ever had… and I only ever order eggs benedict when I go out for breakfast. This is a fabulous cafe – I just hope it doesn’t become SO popular it makes it difficult to get a table!

  • alexmillier says:

    Thanks for your comments! I’m sure they’ll be thrilled. I love eggs benedict too.

  • Gillian says:

    I’m a F.I.F.O and I love comjng home to try something different at this little Cafe and the service is the best you can hope for in Perth

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fez Cafe Mount Lawley at millier's musings.

meta

