Same sex civil union in Australia

December 7, 2011 § Leave a comment

Open letter to Stephen Smith MHR Member for Perth

Wed 7th December 2011

Dear Stephen

I would urge you to share the following video and transcript with your cabinet colleagues and by doing so, to make representation on my behalf.

Remarks in Recognition of International Human Rights Day

Remarks
Hillary Rodham Clinton
Secretary of State
Palais des Nations
Geneva, Switzerland
December 6, 2011
http://www.state.gov/secretary/rm/2011/12/178368.htm

I have many friends on both sides of this debate but as a heterosexual male, I would like to see my gay and lesbian friends and colleagues treated with equal respect and dignity in this country to those rights which I am afforded by marriage to my partner.

Many of my friends with deeply held religious convictions are of the belief that marriage is a sacred rite, and as such, civil unions would appear to be a way to pay equal respect to these concerns.

I would add that if we are keen to follow America’s lead in matters of selling uranium to India, then surely we can also follow Secretary of State Clinton’s lead on the issue of human rights in our own country.

I thank you for your attention to this matter.

Yours sincerely

Alex Millier

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Same sex civil union in Australia at millier's musings.

meta

